Blogging through the Gospels: Matthew 26:36-75~~ WAKE UP!

I am participating in the new bible reading plan by Moms Tool Box, it is called Reading through the gospels. I am participating so that I can be with the Lord and so He will show me ALL about His SON. I love digging in and prayerfully examining His words, thoughts and intents, that is why I will be using the SOAP devotion study tool as I read through the gospels.
 
S=Scripture
O=Observation
A=Application
P=Prayer

Sunday, May 1st~~ Matthew 26: 36-75

40And He came to the disciples and found them sleeping, and said to Peter, “So, you men could not keep watch with Me for one hour? 41“Keep watching and praying that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”
They fell asleep! It was a very difficult time for Jesus, yet when he needed them the most his closest companions went to sleep. Of course they had an excuse; they didn’t fully comprehend Jesus’ need.  Is that really an excuse? Jesus said to them before he walked a wee bit away from them to pray “My soul is deeply grieved, to the point of death; remain here and keep watch with Me.” How could they go to sleep when their Lord just spoke those words? How do we find ourselves spiritually sleeping when Jesus has also called upon us? The answer for us today is the same as it was for the disciples that very night.

the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.

What is the solution to the problem of our weak flesh? Again Jesus has the answer.

Keep watching and praying

I believe that plays out in our lives like this; we need to be focused on HIM, aware of what is going on around us and in us; spiritually, mentally, physically and we need to PRAY!! I never want to fall sleep when the Lord ask me to do something. Since Jesus said it, we know it to be true; ‘watching and praying’ is exactly what we need ‘to do’. So no matter what situation we might find ourselves, we will be wide awake!!

Go HERE if you would like to see all of my ‘Blogging through the Gospels’ post.

Leave a comment