The BEST New Years Resolution

prayer bench 021

By far the BEST New Years Resolution for a child of GOD (YAHWEH) is to attain  or maintain  our Spiritual fitness!!

8for bodily discipline is only of little profit, but godliness is profitable for all things, since it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come.~~1 Timothy 4

24 Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win. 25 Everyone who competes in the games exercises self-control in all things. They then do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. 26 Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; 27 but I discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified. ~~1 Corinthians 9

So how can we on a day-to-day basis attain  or maintain  Spiritual fitness? 

The simplest and I think the best answer is to choose to daily ABIDE with HIM!!! There are many ways to ABIDE with HIM, and below I will give an over-view of some of the ways we can daily ABIDE with HIM!!

Abide in me, and I in you….. –John 15

A. ABIDE with HIM: Daily communicate with your heavenly FATHER in JESUS name 

THANK HIM

  • Start a Gratitude journal. List at least 3 things each day for which you are thankful.

ASK HIM

  • to draw to HIM those that do not belong to HIM
  • to use you and ALL those that belong to HIM to love on others
  • to give you and ALL those that belong to HIM understanding
  • to equip you and ALL those that belong to HIME
  • to direct the steps of you and ALL those that belong to HIM
  • to examine and change what may need to be changed in you and ALL those that belong to HIM
  • to give you and ALL those that belong to HIM boldness to share HIM

REPENT OF YOUR SINS

LISTEN TO HIM

EXPECT HIM TO HEAR YOU

BELIEVE HIM FOR IT ALL

B. ABIDE with HIM: Daily dig into HIS Word! Choose HIS word before you choose a book that is about HIM and HIS word. It is always best to start with the real thing!

Behold, I long for Your precepts; in Your righteousness give me renewed life.~~Psalm 119:40

  1. HERE is my NEW YEAR’s post from two years ago, it might encourage you as you look into a way to ABIDE with HIM in HIS Word in 2013.
  2. One Year Bible on-line
  3. Daily Audio Bible

3. ABIDE with HIM: Honor HIM with your actions, thoughts, parenting, relationships, hobbies, work, school, spare time, in interaction with people you know and those you don’t, and in what you choose as entertainment.

4. ABIDE with HIM: OBEY HIM

  • HIS word says If we love HIM we will Obey HIS commands

5. ABIDE with HIM: DO everything as unto the LORD! Remember life is about HIM, about you and HIM together,  and about you sharing HIM!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A friend of mine posted this as her face book status on 12/31/12 and I thought it was PERFECT for this blog post………

We have not stopped praying for you since the first day we heard about you. In fact, we always pray that God will show you everything he wants you to do and that you may have all the wisdom and understanding his Spirit gives. ~~~Colossians 1

I thought this was a good verse to share going into a new year. What more could we desire but God’s will for our life!

I will leave you with the reminder that ABIDING with HIM is all about a relationship with the Heavenly FATHER through HIS SON JESUS CHRIST not about a check-list. When we ABIDE with HIM, HE will bless us with HIS presence  which is The ONE THING we need to seek with all our heart, soul, mind, and strength. When we do this the rest will follow!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

More post that might encourage you:

Walk with HIM: To Live is CHRIST

Ann @ Holy Experience asked us to prayerfully consider: Naming the New Year. What’s your word for 2011? What your theme for the New Year? We look forward to your thoughts, stories, ideas…. My word for 2011 is …………………. LIVE as in TO LIVE is CHRIST!! This is in keeping with my own eager desire and … Continue reading »

A New Season is an Opportunity

to be conformed more and more into the image of CHRIST!! A new season may bring beauty, joy, and all kinds of wonders that our flesh and even our spirit enjoys, but it can also bring physical, emotional and spiritually sickness, pain,  grief, loss,  sorrow, and all sorts of other difficulties. Yet, it is through …Continue reading »

The answer is to continually FEED on HIM!

Can I prepare my heart for GOD? Is there anything I can do to make myself ready for HIM? I really don’t think so! HE has already prepared me for HIMSELF and when I opened my mouth and life to welcome HIM in, HE gave me a NEW heart! By HIS HOLY Spirit, HE placed in me that NEW heart and … Continue reading »

How a Believer Should Live

The last couple of years I have been in the word more than I ever have in my life and I LOVE IT. I am so thankful for this journey I am on with the Father through His son Jesus. I have been doing so much study, research and seeking the Father in prayer on … Continue reading »

Walk with HIM: Living CHRIST Centered

Ann @ Holy Experience invites us to think on, The Discipline of Living Christ-Centric: What does it mean to live with Jesus in the center of our lives? Discipline………It seems to me that I have never really had it in my life……………I don’t eat right (I’m tying to…. again), I don’t exercise (I’m going to … Continue reading »

Post updated 1/6/2016

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amen, amen! Abide with Him. Abide would be a wonderful word for 2013!

Leave a Reply

