Blogging through the Gospels: Day 1~~It is HIM not us!

I am also thankful that you have provided a new bible reading plan (Reading through the gospels), so that I can be with YOU and you can show me ALL about your SON. I love digging in and prayerfully examining your words, thoughts and intents. This is why I am thankful for the SOAP study tool, which I will be using as I read through your gospels.

Monday, April 4th~~Day 1: Matthew 1

S=Scripture:

Now the birth of Jesus Christ was as follows: when His (L)mother Mary had been betrothed to Joseph, before they came together she was (M)found to be with child by the Holy Spirit. Matt. 1:18 (NASB)

O=Observation:

Mary didn’t DO anything for this GREAT work of God to take place, the birth of His son. The Holy Spirit, God Himself DID IT ALL. Mary only needed to be willing to be used by God.

A=Application:

Just as with Mary, it is with us. It is the Holy Spirit moving and working in and through us.  Simple put it is God Himself that accomplishes His own amazing plans! We just need to be willing, as Mary was, to allow God to do His ‘thing’. Remember it is HIM and NOT US!!

Phil. 2:13 for it is (A)God who is at work in you, both to will and to work (B)for His good pleasure.

Phil. 1:6 For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until (A)the day of Christ Jesus.

P=Prayer:

Oh, Lord may I always be willing to be used by you! May I always trust that your word is true and that it is you not me that will accomplish your plans. I pray you will always find my heart stayed on you!

Reflection:

Since I just completed the bible in 90 days, reading the family tree of Jesus seemed like a brand new experience. These people truly came alive to me. I saw their heart, God’s heart toward them, His for them and and how it played out.

Go HERE if you would like to see all of my ‘Blogging through the Gospels’ post.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Heidi says:

    Great! I am looking forward to your posts to come.

  2. Shonda says:

    I started doing this too! I love your observation and application for this verse. I hope to post a few times on my blog. Don’t know if I can do it everyday.

  3. quilly says:

    Sometimes it is easy to forget that the glory is God’s, but he has little ways of reminding us. Thankfully the generally humble, but don’t humiliate.

Leave a comment