Blogging through the Gospels: Day 2~~God himself produces fruit in us!

I am participating in the new bible reading plan by Moms Tool Box, it is called Reading through the gospels. I am participating so that I can be with the Lord and so He will show me ALL about His SON. I love digging in and prayerfully examining His words, thoughts and intents, that is why I will be using the SOAP devotion study tool as I read through the gospels.

Tuesday, April 5th~~Day 2: Matthew 2 & 3

S=Scripture:

Therefore bear fruit (S)in keeping with repentance;….Matthew 3:8

O=Observation:

God has a way He expects us to live and this way is actually proof of our relationship with HIM. Bearing fruit is the evidence of a repentant heart, a heart that belongs to the Father.

for (A)you were formerly (B)darkness, but now you are Light in the Lord; walk as (C)children of Light….Eph 5:8

but kept declaring both (A)to those of Damascus first, and also (B)at Jerusalem and then throughout all the region of Judea, and even (C)to the Gentiles, that they should (D)repent and turn to God, performing deeds (E)appropriate to repentance….Acts 26:20

A=Application:

It is NOT the bearing of fruit that saves us but the bearing of fruit happens when we truly have excepted the salvation the Lord freely gives to His creation. The Lord spoke to me yesterday from the Day 1 reading, that we do NOT need to stress because it is God himself in us that produces this fruit.

To bear fruit you need to stay rooted in good soil (the Word of God), drink up life-giving water (Jesus Christ), be exposed to the sun (I mean the SON) and be pollinated ( hang with fellow believers).

P=Prayer:

Oh Lord that all that cry out to you, do so with a sincere repentant heart. If I ever get in the way of you doing your work inside of me , please tell me to get out of your way!!

Reflection:

1Therefore (A)I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to (B)present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. 2And do not (C)be conformed to (D)this world, but be transformed by the (E)renewing of your mind, so that you may (F)prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 1

Go HERE if you would like to see all of my ‘Blogging through the Gospels’ post.
3 Comments Add yours

  1. I like how you identified that we don’t need to stress over fruit growth. Our job is to remain in Christ, and as we do, the natural result is fruit growth. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Angie says:

      I like how you put it……………..the natural result of remaining in Christ is fruit growth!!! =)

  2. Annie says:

    That’s awesome, you are right we bear fruit because we are saved. Great post šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

