Blogging through the Gospels: Day 5~~God KNOWS what we Need!

I am participating in the new bible reading plan by Moms Tool Box, it is called Reading through the gospels. I am participating so that I can be with the Lord and so He will show me ALL about His SON. I love digging in and prayerfully examining His words, thoughts and intents, that is why I will be using the SOAP devotion study tool as I read through the gospels.

Friday, April 8th~~Day 5: Matthew 6

S= Scripture:

8“So do not be like them; for (K)your Father knows what you need before you ask Him

31“Do not (AO)worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ 32“For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for (AP)your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.

O= Observation:

God knows what we NEED, He always has and always will! Three needs were  specifically pointed out. These needs are your very basic ones; food, drink and clothing. There is a difference between something we want and something we need. Also in this chapter it is spoken that we can not serve two masters; God and money. We risk serving money as our master when we continually seek after more than our true needs.

A= Application:

Live this way ……..

33“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and (AQ)all these things will be added to you.

If we live this out than I believe we will keep a proper perspective in reference to our true needs versus our wants.

P= Prayer:

Oh, father I know you have been speaking to me about these very things, please don’t stop. Rebuke me, correct me and teach me where it may be needed so that I walk this life as you desire.  My heart is to seek you and your kingdom first, continue to guide me in this way so that I do not gain a distorted view of  my true needs.

Reflection:

Jesus told Peter to feed his sheep. I believe this means spiritually and physically. If we as Christians use the majority of our finances just making sure we have everything we want, how can we truly feed Jesus’ sheep?

Go HERE if you would like to see all of my ‘Blogging through the Gospels’ post.

Leave a comment