Blogging through the Gospels: Day 4~~The Heart of the Matter

I am participating in the new bible reading plan by Moms Tool Box, it is called Reading through the gospels. I am participating so that I can be with the Lord and so He will show me ALL about His SON. I love digging in and prayerfully examining His words, thoughts and intents, that is why I will be using the SOAP devotion study tool as I read through the gospels.

Thursday, April 7th~~Day 4: Matthew 5

S= Scripture:

43(BD)You have heard that it was said, ‘(BE)YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR (BF)and hate your enemy.’

44“But I say to you, (BG)love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,

This is what Jesus referred to:

Deuteronomy 23:3-6 (New American Standard Bible)
3(A)No Ammonite or Moabite shall enter the assembly of the LORD; none of their descendants, even to the tenth generation, shall ever enter the assembly of the LORD,
4(B)because they did not meet you with food and water on the way when you came out of Egypt, and because they hired against you (C)Balaam the son of Beor from Pethor of Mesopotamia, to curse you.
5“Nevertheless, the LORD your God was not willing to listen to Balaam, but the LORD your God (D)turned the curse into a blessing for you because the LORD your God (E)loves you.
6(F)You shall never seek their peace or their prosperity all your days.

O= Observation:

Jesus pointed out what it said in the law but then he added to it, he change it up, he raised the standard . If anyone has the authority to add to or change anything in the word, it is Jesus Christ the word made flesh. Jesus went right to the heart of the matter. If we love like God loves, like Jesus loves then we CAN love our enemy!

~~Of course this is not the only time in this chapter that Jesus changes things up.  He did this about six other times. I encourage you to read this whole chapter yourself.~~

It does look like Jesus himself has added to the law, a scripture in this chapter says not one stroke of the law will pass away but Jesus changed it or did he? What he did was reveal to us the true meaning………the heart of the matter.

A= Application:

To live this out we must allow the Holy Spirit to do His work in us. We can not in ourselves truly love our enemy. We can not in ourselves do anything God would ask us or expect us to do. Our heart needs to be stayed on the Father, we need to abide in Christ, we need to listen to the Holy Spirit and get out of his way so that we can truly live in a way that will glorify God and shines the light of His truth to the world around us.

P= Prayer:

Oh Father, may I love as you love, my I see as you see, may I live as your son lived, may I honor you the way your son always does!!

Go HERE if you would like to see all of my ‘Blogging through the Gospels’ post.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    It occurred to me today as I was writing my prayer for Chapter 5 that the verse “I can do all things” (Philippians 4:13 ) doesn’t end there. It’s “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!” We are supposed to rely on God for everything! Including our ability to love as He does!

Leave a Reply

