Outdoor Hour: Nature Close to Home- December World

Our December World

“I heard a bird sing
In the dark of December
A magical thing
And sweet to remember.

‘We are nearer to Spring
Than we were in September,’
I heard a bird sing
In the dark of December.”
–   Oliver Herford, I Heard a Bird Sing

I took a couple of pictures of the moon the night we were to have a lunar eclipse. Then the clouds rolled in and I fell asleep so I didn’t get to see it, Oh well maybe next time =) See a pic of a lunar eclipse from Oct 2004 HERE.

On Christmas Eve we headed out for a much-needed walk. For weeks the boys and I have been trying to get over being sick. It was a BEAUTIFUL day and I was ready to go! We headed out with the intent to really “see” our December world and to find the colors red and green. (I was inspired to look for those colors by my Hodgepodge friend.)

Our Dec 24 world was bright, cold, crisp and just wonderful. There were all shades of brown and gray, red, burnt orange, gorgeous blue, bright and dull greens, muted yellows, white and black.

I am excited to say that we got SNOW on Christmas day. Where I live it was the first real snow in 100 years! Then the day after Christmas it was a winter wonderland!

~~~~~~~

I have found such joy, contentment, peace, have been completely amazed and in awe since I found the Charlotte Mason home school method about five years. At that time I  started getting my boys outside, taking walks, feeding and watching the birds, observing the colors, textures, large and small creatures, plants, weeds, trees, a variety of tracks and even scat left behind. I have completely enjoyed becoming familiar with the wonder of God’s creation every chance I get, every place I can but most of our lessons have been right here in my own backyard! My family is very blessed to have the property that we do. It is not everything that I would want but it has so much that I love. The big yard (even though it has a steady hill all the way to the back) the little lake, sometimes a creek (depending on how much rain we’ve had), the woods, rocks, open areas, wild flowers, wild ferns, so many trees and even more.  This property belonged to my grandparents and my grandfather gave us the opportunity to buy it and it is a true gift from God.

When you have eaten and are satisfied , praise the Lord your God for the good land he has given you. Duet. 8:10

Thank You to Barb @ HNS for being the inspiration and the link to so much of the knowledge and enjoyment we have gained over the years.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I can’t believe you had snow…and it is so pretty. I bet your boys loved it and what a treat for your December world. I think it is wonderful that you have a great place to take adventures in right there in your own yard and it will make such great memories for your whole family.

    Glad you are all feeling better and that you were able to get out for some December nature walks. Thanks for sharing your entry with the OHC.

    1. Angie says:

      Barb, the boys did love it!! They actual got to sled on the hill in our back pasture. It was a blast!!

  2. Tricia says:

    I love your quote at top. Your December discoveries are wonderful (of course, I was just thrilled with the white Christmas!!) Thanks for the links to Hodgepodge! But remember YOU and your family pointed us towards nature study and the OHC. Thank you.

    1. Angie says:

      I may have introduced you to the Handbook of Nature Study but you have taken it and ran with it!! You are making wonderful memories for your family!!!

  3. Christina Wilson says:

    It sure was exciting to have snow on Christmas. I loved your photos. Don’t be disappointed by not looking outside at the lunar eclipse at 3 am. I did go out but the sky was so cloudy the moon could not even be seen. Oh well.

    1. Angie says:

      Christina, Thanks! I appreciate the encouragement on not going out at 3am but sorry you did and you only saw clouds.

Leave a comment