Today is for Reflection

Help me to see how good thy will is in all,
and even when it crosses mine
teach me to be pleased with it.
–from The All-Good Prayer in the book The Valley of Vision

Wow, what a prayer!!  The person who wrote this knew that his will would not always be God’s will. He knew that there would be times that he wouldn’t always see it God’s way. He knew this was true yet he didn’t want it that way.  What I love is not just his desire to really see that God’s will is best but his desire to also be pleased with God’s will. I get that he wants to have a clean heart and a right spirit for the will of God in his life.

Following God’s will is not always easy or comfortable but I know, cause I’ve lived it, that in the end God’s will is always without a doubt the very best! ! I also know that if we allow HIM, God will change our will so that it conforms to HIS will!! Are your plans not succeeding? Do you feel as if you’re banging your head against a wall? Are you walking in God’s will or are you trying to walk in yours? If you’re struggling, jut as I have in my life, just offer up the above prayer to HIM and you can believe with all your heart that God will honor your hearts desire!!

 Roll your works upon the Lord [commit and trust them wholly to Him; He will cause your thoughts to become agreeable to His will, and] so shall your plans be established and succeed.–Proverbs 16:3

2 Comments Add yours

  1. 5kidswdisabilities says:

    What a beautiful saying…
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. Donna Bannister says:

    Powerful on many levels…I love this!

Leave a comment