Intentional Parenting

INTENTIONAL=  1. done with intention or on purpose; intended: an intentional insult. 2. of or pertaining to intention or purpose. *Synonyms 1. designed, planned. See deliberate.

What is Intentional Parenting?

Advent devotion 11 2011 001

I believe Intentional Parenting is doing what you know needs to be done even when you are tired physically, emotionally and spiritually. It means doing what you know is best even when you just feel lazy, or in need of some ‘me’ time. O.k., before anyone feels like shooting me; I know we all need some time to recharge, and we can call that ‘me’ time. I know I have taken plenty of ‘me’ time while I have been a parent! There is nothing wrong with spending some time doing what you enjoy, teaching your children to entertain themselves, and especially a mom and dad having some time alone. What becomes a problem is when a parent chooses more and more “me” time over what needs to be done, and what they know to be the very best for their kids.

Do I have all the answers? Absolutely NOT! Am I always an Intentional Parent? Absolutely NOT.

I do wish the answer to both of those questions could have been a resounding YES, but that is just NOT the case.

Do I know I need to be an Intentional Parent? YES, I DO! Do I want to be an Intentional Parent? YES, I DO!!!

Can I become an Intentional Parent? YES, I CAN!

I invite you to join me on my journey to becoming an Intentional Parent (Most all of the time that is; yes, I am giving myself some grace!) I will be posting my thoughts, my ups and downs, scriptures, links to encouraging articles, blogs and books, and quotes from other moms on the same journey. How can I become a consistent Intentional Parent? By submitting to the authority, power and grace of GOD my heavenly FATHER!!

Here is a wonderful example of being a very Intentional Parent!!

The LORD is our God. The LORD is the only God.  5Love the LORD your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your strength.  6Take to heart these words that I give you today.  7Repeat them to your children. Talk about them when you’re at home or away, when you lie down or get up.  8[Write them down, and] tie them around your wrist, and wear them as headbands as a reminder.  9Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.~~Deuteronomy 6

More to hopefully encourage and inspire you to be INTENTIONAL:

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

