ABIDE is the Word!

100_4390

I was first inspired to choose a word for a new year by Ann Voskamp at Holy Experience for one of her Walk With HIM Wednesdays in 2011. The  word was to describe your theme for the year, you know  basically what you wanted as your main focus. At that time I chose LIVE as in To LIVE is CHRIST. Now for 2013 I have chosen ABIDE as my word!

You see in 2013 I want to do LIFE just like is described in the scripture below.

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you. ~Romans 12: 1-2 (The Message Bible)

I believe the best way to accomplish this, is to ABIDE in HIM.

“I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit, He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit, He [a]prunes it so that it may bear more fruit. 3 You are already [b]clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. 4  ABIDE in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit [c]of itself unless it ABIDES in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. 5 I am the vine, you are the branches; he who ABIDES in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. 6 If anyone does not ABIDE in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. 7 If you ABIDE in Me, and My words ABIDE in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so[d]prove to be My disciples. 9 Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; ABIDE in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will ABIDE in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 11 These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full. ~~John 15 (NASV)

If I ABIDE with HIM I will produce fruit (through and only because of HIM)

 I am the vine, you are the branches; he who ABIDES in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”~Rom. 12:5

If I am bearing fruit than I am (through and only because of HIM) able to LIVE out Romans 12:1-2

You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it….. God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you. (This is a small part of Romans 12:1-2,  look above for the rest.)

Let’s look at what ABIDE means (See Blue Letter Bible)

1) to remain, abide

a) in reference to place

1) to sojourn, tarry

2) not to depart

a) to continue to be present

b) to be held, kept, continually

b) in reference to time

1) to continue to be, not to perish, to last, endure

a) of persons, to survive, live

c) in reference to state or condition

1) to remain as one, not to become another or different

2) to wait for, await one

When I ABIDE in HIM……… I remain with HIM, tarry with HIM, continue with HIM, live for HIM, kept by HIM and for HIM, I will last and endure by and for HIM, wait for HIM, and I will not become anything but what HE has destined me to be!! It is utterly amazing that as the FATHER’s child through HIS son JESUS, we get to ABIDE in them. We get to be intimately connected to our GOD, our Mighty CREATOR, Our Heavenly FATHER, and our SAVIOR!! WOW! I am talking about the ALPHA and OMEGA!!

“I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.” ~~~ Revelation 1:8

I hope and pray that if you are one of GOD’s children you will also choose to ABIDE in HIM this year as never before!! If you are not a child of GOD through JESUS, I pray your heart, and mind will be open to hear and believe the truth of the salvation we have by the FATHER through the Son!!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. If this is your word for the year, you should read, “Secrets of the Vine” by Bruce Wilkinson, if you haven’t already…A short, powerful book on these verses using a vine as an illustration.

    1. Angie says:

      I have not read that book, I will check into getting it soon. Thanks for the suggestion!!

Leave a Reply

