The answer “continually FEED on HIM”!

cropped-black-and-white-bible-candle.jpg

How Can I INTENTIONALLY prepare my heart for my GOD? Is there anything I can INTENTIONALLY do to make myself ready for my ELOHIM and Heavenly FATHER?

I know HE has already prepared me for HIMSELF! When I opened my mouth and life to welcome HIM in when HE called; HE gave me a NEW heart! By HIS HOLY Spirit HE placed in me that NEW heart; it has in it everything I need to continually walk in HIS ways.

If I have a NEW heart, and it is exactly the kind of heart I need to walk in the ways of GOD; why do I at times find myself walking another way?

“Keep watching and praying that you may not enter into temptation; the spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.” ~~Matthew 26:41

That it!! It’s my stinking, ugly, lazy, selfish, and weak FLESH!!

It isn’t because GOD isn’t enough; it isn’t because HIS HOLY SPIRIT isn’t powerful enough; it isn’t because what JESUS did just wasn’t good enough,  and it’s not because HIS WORD isn’t true.

It’s not my heart; it’s not my spirit, but it is my flesh!!

It’s my flesh that keeps me from HIM; that keep’s me out of HIS word, and keeps me from speaking to HIM. It is my flesh that keeps my mouth shut when I should speak or keeps it running when I should be silent. It’s my flesh that gets in the way; eats away at what could be done and should be done.

It is my flesh that betrays me; that new me that I am when I became HIS child through faith!!!

Oh, what can I do? How can I INTENTIONALLY prepare this flesh? How can I INTENTIONALLY make it acceptable?

I can’t make my flesh acceptable, but I can CHOOSE to let it die.

How do I go about starving my flesh to the point of its death?

Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit. Romans 8:5

I CHOOSE HIS will, not mine!

And He went a little beyond them, and fell on His face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as You will.” Matthew 26:39

That means I continually feed my SPIRIT, on HIS BODY and HIS BLOOD!!!

Yes, that is it! I will feed on JESUS, and by choosing to INTENTIONALLY feed my spirit, I will starve my flesh!!!

Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For my flesh is real food and my blood is real drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me, and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I live because of the Father, so the one who feeds on me will live because of me. John 6:53-57

To feed on HIM; I just have to choose to allow HIS SPIRIT to do HIS thing in, and through me. To feed my spirit; I just have to say no to my flesh, and YES to HIM!! I will feed my spirit by feeding on HIM; in prayer, while reading HIS word, while encouraging, while teaching, while serving others, while being a mom, a wife, a friend, while listening to music, while choosing my entertainment, while having a conversation, while relaxing, and while showing HIS love anyway and every way I can.

If you use your lives to do what your sinful selves want, you will die spiritually. But if you use the Spirit’s help to stop doing the wrong things you do with your body, you will have true life. Romans 8:13

Back to the question “Is there anything I can INTENTIONALLY do to make myself ready for HIM?”

YES, there is; with the HOLY SPIRIT’s help I can INTENTIONALLY and continually FEED on HIM!!

Updated 8/18/13

More to hopefully encourage and inspire you to be INTENTIONAL:

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Felina says:

    Thank you Angie, I have been hearing a lot lately about our flesh. I want to be spirit led not flesh led- I choose to feast on Him and His ways. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

