We needed the NEW, and it is better than the OLD? (Post #5)

All my life I have been taught, I have read and understood that as a believer in Jesus Christ, God’s son and God himself that I am living under what is called the NEW Covenant. Therefore being under the New Covenant meant that some things in the old covenant still held true for us today but some things had changed. So is that true? Are we under a new covenant that did bring changes? This is my 5th post and I can say without a doubt that yes, we are under the NEW Covenant and it did bring changes!!

This post like the first four will come from the perspective (belief) that JESUS is God’s son and God himself and that the whole bible (old and new) is full of God’s words, not man’s and therefore we can trust that GOD made sure that we had one book that is a completely reliable source of information for us to have faith in and live by.

31“The time is coming,” declares the Lord,

“when I will make a new covenant

with the house of Israel

and with the house of Judah.

32It will not be like the covenant

I made with their forefathers

when I took them by the hand

to lead them out of Egypt,

because they broke my covenant,

though I was a husband tod them,e

declares the Lord.

33“This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel

after that time,” declares the Lord.

“I will put my law in their minds

and write it on their hearts.~~Jer. 31

But now He has obtained a more excellent ministry, by as much as He is also the mediator of a better covenant, which has been enacted on better promises. ~Heb. 8:6

For if that first covenant had been faultless, there would have been no occasion sought for a second. ~Heb. 8:7

8For finding fault with them, He says,
“BEHOLD, DAYS ARE COMING, SAYS THE LORD,
WHEN I WILL EFFECT A NEW COVENANT
WITH THE HOUSE OF ISRAEL AND WITH THE HOUSE OF JUDAH;

9NOT LIKE THE COVENANT WHICH I MADE WITH THEIR FATHERS
ON THE DAY WHEN I TOOK THEM BY THE HAND
TO LEAD THEM OUT OF THE LAND OF EGYPT;
FOR THEY DID NOT CONTINUE IN MY COVENANT,
AND I DID NOT CARE FOR THEM, SAYS THE LORD.

10“FOR THIS IS THE COVENANT THAT I WILL MAKE WITH THE HOUSE OF ISRAEL
AFTER THOSE DAYS, SAYS THE LORD:
I WILL PUT MY LAWS INTO THEIR MINDS,
AND I WILL WRITE THEM ON THEIR HEARTS.
AND I WILL BE THEIR GOD,
AND THEY SHALL BE MY PEOPLE. ~Heb. 8:8-10

13When He said, “A new covenant,” He has made the first obsolete. But whatever is becoming obsolete and growing old is ready to disappear. ~Heb. 8:13

12For when there is a change of the priesthood, there must also be a change of the law.~Heb 7:12

18The former regulation is set aside because it was weak and useless 19(for the law made nothing perfect), and a better hope is introduced, by which we draw near to God.

20And it was not without an oath! Others became priests without any oath, 21but he became a priest with an oath when God said to him: “The Lord has sworn and will not change his mind: ‘You are a priest forever.’”b 22Because of this oath, Jesus has become the guarantee of a better covenant.

For this reason He is the mediator of a new covenant, so that, since a death has taken place for the redemption of the transgressions that were committed under the first covenant, those who have been called may receive the promise of the eternal inheritance~Heb 9:15

40God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect. ~Heb 11

1The law is only a shadow of the good things that are coming—not the realities themselves. For this reason it can never, by the same sacrifices repeated endlessly year after year, make perfect those who draw near to worship. 2If it could, would they not have stopped being offered? For the worshipers would have been cleansed once for all, and would no longer have felt guilty for their sins. 3But those sacrifices are an annual reminder of sins, 4because it is impossible for the blood of bulls and goats to take away sins.

5Therefore, when Christ came into the world, he said:

“Sacrifice and offering you did not desire,

but a body you prepared for me;

6with burnt offerings and sin offerings

you were not pleased.

7Then I said, ‘Here I am—it is written about me in the scroll—

I have come to do your will, O God.’”a

8First he said, “Sacrifices and offerings, burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not desire, nor were you pleased with them” (although the law required them to be made). 9Then he said, “Here I am, I have come to do your will.” He sets aside the first to establish the second. 10And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

11Day after day every priest stands and performs his religious duties; again and again he offers the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins. 12But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God. 13Since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool, 14because by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.

15The Holy Spirit also testifies to us about this. First he says:

16“This is the covenant I will make with them

after that time, says the Lord.

I will put my laws in their hearts,

and I will write them on their minds.”b~Heb 10

So from all the scriptures referenced above it is plain to see that GOD himself said we needed the NEW, by telling us HE was going to give us the NEW. We can also plainly see that GOD spoke to the writers of the New Testament that the NEW was simply better than the old. I think one of the scriptures that brings this message across so plainly is, For if that first covenant had been faultless, there would have been no occasion sought for a second. ~Heb. 8:7.  Wow, now that is plain and simple, if the OLD (first) was the best there would have been no reason to make the NEW (second) Thank YOU Father for not stopping with the old but giving us the NEW!! 

I hope you might read the words in my first four post in reference to the New Covenant:

What does it really mean be under a New Covenant (Post #1)

What does it really mean to be under a New Covenant (Post #2)

Jesus was the way GOD ushered in the New Covenant (Post #3)

JESUS declares the NEW Covenant is in HIS blood! (Post #4)

7 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

