Weekly Wrap-Up: In need of……

Here is my latest weekly wrap-up !

It has been a full week but it has been a good one. I am very proud of both of my boys; they will be testing for their Taekwondo purple belts this Saturday and they are very, very excited. This August they will have been taking Taekwondo for a year and I can honestly say that their instructor definitely makes them work for their belts.

Our official school year will be finished at the end of June. I am in need of inspiration, motivation, and encouragement. I really feel as if I have gotten off track in my home school journey. In my mind things are not going as well as I thought they would at this point in our home school journey. I can’t really put my finger on why I feel this way, I just do feel this way. So I am rereading or skimming over some of my home school books; such as: Laying Down the Rails and Hours in the Out-of-doors by SCM, Pocketful of Pinecones by Karen Andreola and Educating the Whole Hearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson. I am also borrowing from a friend A Charlotte Mason Education and More Charlotte Mason Education by Catherine Levison. I pray that my Heavenly Father will get me back on the right track so that I will walk out in His peace; doing what I know is His best for my boys.

I put out this question to my local HS friends:

What book would you read, if you could only read one this summer to encourage and inspire you for the new school year? (Besides the Bible =)

I have only received these two answers so far; I Saw the Angel in the Marble by Chris and Ellyn Davis of Ellijah Co. and The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. Now, I am asking anyone who would happen to be reading this post the same question. I would LOVE to hear (read) your answer.

My week also consisted of …………….

Gratitude List 

The sound of a Barred Owl outside my house as I sit reading your words and meditating on you Father and your Son! For the Storm….so I can experience the calm that will come. The Moccasin trail, the black caterpillar, white moth, water snake, milkweed and that I can identify it now, for mouths that work…even if they at times speak complaints, shade, twinkling sunlight through the leaves, a breeze,……

I am, I ought, I can,I will; therefore I am Free,

When I belong to Christ I am Free Indeed. When I am Free in Christ I will joyfully accept the bridle, bit and direction from the reigns; which is the Holy Spirit and the word. I will accept the fence; which is the “will” of our Father.  I will take this Freedom; I will live wild and Free in the love, safety, forgiveness, mercy, grace, strength and power of the Father whom I belong. Now that is a Freedom to celebrate!!!…….

What did Jesus say in John 5

Jesus and the Father are one, Jesus never goes off on His own and does his own thing. He will always only do what His Father wants Him to do. When we honor Jesus, we honor the father. If we do not honor Jesus we do not honor the Father. The Father loves the son and the son loves the Father…..

That which doesn’t Kill us makes us stronger,

I am talking about the discipline of godliness! As the Word tells that godliness is profitable for ALL things. So I need to exercise my spirit daily to become more godly; this in turn will benefit every single part of my life even the life to come…..

What did Jesus say John 6

Here is evidence that Jesus ask questions not because He didn’t know the answer but because He wanted to stir up our Faith, he wanted to make us think, He wanted to push us to the next level and he wanted to reveal something……..

4 Comments Add yours

  1. sharla says:

    The question about the book is a good one. I will be checking back to read the other answers. This summer, I am planning on reading “Parenting is Your Highest Calling…and 8 other Myths that Trap us in Worry and Guilt”, Ann Voskamp’s “One Thousand Gifts”, and “Hold on to Your Kids”.

  2. Mary says:

    If I could read just one book for inspiration and motivation, it would be The Well Trained Mind – again!

    🙂

  3. Tricia says:

    You are so smart to seek and to read! Oh – Mary reminded me. The Well Trained Mind would be great to re-read. You are welcome to borrow it if you don’t have it Angie.

  4. Kristin Smith says:

    Barry and I heard Voddie Baucham speak at he GHEA conference in May. He is our new favorite homeschool speaker! We were very inspired! I was unable to buy any of his books (I bought his conference cd’s instead), but I would definitely recommend him! Here is a website where you can listen to him at several of his past conferences: http://hche.org/listenOnline.jsp?sort2=ID&SectionID=3 You can look up your other favorite speakers, too!
    Kristin

Leave a Reply

