Weekly Wrap-Up: I’m Back

Accountability…………….I NEED IT!! I am returning to a past habit of posting a weekly wrap-up because I need the accountability it gives me. It really stirs me to ponder what the boys and I have done for the week; anything that benefits the spirit, mind and the body. It feels great to be back.

This past Monday we came home from an eight day camping trip, we took a school break and just enjoyed each other, God’s creation, friends, Golfing, Hiking, Kayaking, Biking and Horse backing, playing games, and more. I love going camping but there is always so much to do when you come home. Tuesday I woke up didn’t feel well but HAD to go grocery shopping, took care of a friends very sweet cat, had to wash clothes (lots of clothes), straighten up, put lots of stuff away, make a desert to take to a mom’s home school meeting I was hosting at my church, pack the car, etc… I was so tired and not 100% physically but boy am I so thankful I went. We had a blast at the meeting, we laughed so much it was wonderful!!

I am so thankful that I am a part of a HOME SCHOOL GROUP with sweet, supportive, down to earth, Christian moms, that I know will pray for me, support me, encourage me and laugh with me. I am also very pleased with the variety of activities the group offers. Not to mention we have AWESOME mom’s meetings!!

Wednesday the boys and I had school, I cleaned the camper, I a still trying to catch up on laundry, I cleaned up the school room……..it was a AWFUL, more regular day to day thing around the house that always have to be done, took the boys to Taekwondo, made home made bread and cooked dinner. Thursday we went to the zoo, came home I did more work in the school room, took my youngest to the dr., ran an errand, helped my hubby with dinner, cut my husband’s hair, the boys and I did some school. I am also trying to prepare my oldest for his first big test. One of the HS laws in my state, is that every three years students have to take the CRCT test and the parents just have to keep the results for their own records. Well, my oldest has gotten himself all worked up about it, so I am trying to prepare him as much as I can but without making a really big deal about it.  Any advice on giving your child one of these test for the first time would be appreciated!!

I am writing this 12:10am Thursday night. I know tomorrow we will have school, then we will go to the park for our home school groups curriculum/ book sale, I will keep doing laundry, and I may be going to a nephews graduation.The boys and I will also need to do school on Saturday and it is time for me to work on the next two months children’s church lesson plans!!

O.k., this wasn’t a very exciting weekly wrap-up but what I was reminded of this week is that it is great to go out of town but really hard to come home, get caught up and get back into your regular routine. I also know that I have to buckle down to complete out last fifteen days of school, and complete my “plans” for the next school year.

I do know something we will do next year; a friend GAVE me her Exploring Creation with Zoology 2- Swimming Creatures of the Fifth day by Jeanie Fulbright and my oldest is very excited! If you have never checked out Jeanie’s Science books, you really should I believe you and your kids will be blessed!!!

Oh, I have to add that I am reading a WONDERFUL book, and I urge you to read it also. It is called 1000 Gifts and it is by Ann Voskamp ( from Holy Experience). Here is a Letter from her about the book and here is an informational page about the book.

So WHO has completed their school year and or already have their plans laid out for next year?


12 Comments Add yours

  1. We are finished and off for the next three months…glorious! We love the Jeannie Fulbright books so you are in for a treat.

    Stopping by from the Weekly Wrap-up post….just wanted to say hi since I haven’t visited in awhile.

  2. Know this is going to sound weird b/c it has nothing to do w/homeschooling but hopped over here from weekly wrapup and am impressed by the clean design of your wordpress template. Have been trying to fiddle around w/mine (want to showcase photos better) and tempted to switch to blogger for more versatility. Your site has given me something to chew on design-wise!

    1. Angie says:

      Hi Amy, I really like this theme also, I jut changed it last night =)

  3. Tricia says:

    Angie – I love your photos of your trip!!! You have had one busy week my friend!

    On the testing. Here is what my husband told my Middle Girl. It really helped. He said, ‘this is only a measurement of what you know. There is no right score or wrong score. And if we haven’t covered something in the test, then we haven’t covered it. You aren’t expected to know it. It simply is a tool for us to see what all you DO know.’

    It was a great day to be at the park!

  4. Welcome back, Angie! 🙂

    1. Angie says:

      Why, thank you Jamie =)

  5. Jessy says:

    Oh, LOVE camping! Sounds like you all had a GREAT time…There’s ALWAYS the work afterward though. Have you caught up and feeling better? We completed our year on 5/22 and will have off until early September. I’m still ordering curriculum, but most of the year is mapped out loosely.

    1. Angie says:

      Hi Jessy, We did have a great time camping. I forgot to add to the weeks schedule that we are looking for a new camper. We looked at new ones Monday on our way home and we went back out today and looked at a whole lot of them today in person and on-line. I am caught up on laundry =) Have FUN planning for next year!

  6. Lori says:

    It is hard to come back after a vacation- especially camping. You need a vacation from your vacation.

    I like link ups for the accountability too. I hope to participate more. Reading other posts is also very motivating to me.

    I hope you are feeling better.

    1. Angie says:

      Hi Lori, I also think reading other post is motivating. Thanks for stopping by and I do feel better!! =)

  7. Hi Angie, sounds lik you guys had amarvelous time on your camping trip. Our family likes to go camping also. It is a lot of work when you come back from camping trying to get all that laundry caught up, but I’d say it’s worth it, having the opportunity to be out doors.

    1. Angie says:

      Hi Traci,
      Thanks for visiting. Yes, we did have a marvelous time camping!! All the work when you get home is worth it just to be able to go that week. God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

