Update: My one and only New Years Resolution

Original Post 12/2010

My one and only Resolution is to LIVE as in to Live is Christ, so that leads me to share with you that I have signed up for the Bible in 90 days challenge! I am going to confess  something that isn’t easy to admit. I will be turning 40 in April of 2011 and I have never read the entire bible. I have read the majority of it many times but I have always skipped a few books in the Old testament. I have always been so disappointed in myself for not having read all of God’s book but yet I couldn’t make myself do it. I would always go back to Genesis to start over,

or back to the New Testament. I just love the book of Psalms so I have always included reading from that book. Over the years I have found myself reading along with a current devotion book or a certain topic I wanted to study. I love God’s word but I have to admit to my flesh some of it isn’t as exciting as other parts of it. Well, my flesh will not stop me anymore!! I have recently been reading heavily from the bible instead of reading along with a devotion book and I am just loving it!! Today I felt compelled (I believe by the Holy Spirit) to join the challenge I mentioned above so that (right) before I turn 40 I will have completely read the Book of my Heavenly Father!!

Behold, I long for Your precepts; in Your righteousness give me renewed life.~~Psalm 119:40

If you are in the same boat I am or it has just been a while since you have read the entire bible I encourage you to join the Bible in 90 days challenge!

I would like you meet the friend that inspired me to join these challenges! Thanks Kerri!

1/2/11 Update: O.k., so along with my one resolution to LIVE as in to LIVE is Christ, I am giving myself another challenge. Which is to memorize two verses a month. I am joining the Siesta Sister Scripture Team Challenge , it is by Beth Moore and the Living Proof Ministry. For January 2011 I am starting with these two verses: I eagerly expect and hope that I will in no way be ashamed, but will have sufficient courage so that now as always Christ will be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me, to live is Christ and… to die is gain. Philippians 1:20-21 NIV **I did not go all year on this =O(   **I might try it again in the future**
1/3/11 Update: I have begun the 90 day challenge this morning! It feels wonderful to start my day off with straight WORD! I am very excited about this Bible in 90 days challenge!! I have read half of today’s reading  (Genesis 1:1- Genesis 16:16) this morning between 6:50-7:20 am. I need to go get ready for school (I home school) So I will complete my reading between an afternoon coffee break and after the kids are in bed tonight =)
3/19 Update: I can’t believe we are only a couple of weeks away from completing the Bible in 90 day challenge! At times this has been a very tiring journey but it has also been an amazing one to travel. I have gone back and forth with getting behind and then getting caught up. It is only by the grace of God that as of today I am right where I need to be so that I will complete the challenge right on time. I feel hungrier for HIS word, than I have been in a very long time. I find my thoughts racing back to HIM more and more each day as I immerse myself  in HIS word. Many times I found myself taking the opportunity to look up the original meaning of a verse, reading it from several different translations and even reading commentaries. Though I couldn’t put too much time into this kind of thing and I really had so many things I wanted to dig into deeper. Even though I couldn’t do that very often, God has thoroughly blessed me on this journey through HIS entire word!!

3/29/11UPDATE: WOO-HOO, GOD ANSWERED MY PRAYER!! I did it (only because of HIM)!!! I just COMPLETED the Bible in 90 days Challenge!! I finished 5 days ahead of schedule!!! I am looking forward to my next bible reading. I am going to join Mom’s Toolbox reading through Matthew, Mark, Luke and John starting April 4 through July 10……read about it here HERE

 
**I was writing a SOAP DEVOTIONAL each day when I first started but I ended up not being able to continue doing that. I do plan on picking back up the SOAP devotions after this challenge is complete and I start my one year in-depth chronological study of the bible. If you would like to check out my devotions just click HERE
 
SOAP =
S-Scripture
O-Observation
A-Application
P-Prayer
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna Bannister says:

    Way to go, Angie!! This is awesome!!

  2. Lisa Grace says:

    On the 90-Day Challenge with you and so excited! I wanted to invite you to link up with me on Fridays at my blog if you have any blogs about the 90-Day Challenge so that others can read it … trying to offer as much support and encouragement as possible 🙂 Can’t wait to see what God does in and to and through all of us as we give Him this time!

    1. Angie says:

      Thanks Donna!!
      Lisa Grace, Thanks, I will try to link up!! God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

