B90 SOAP day(s) 24-29 devotional: It’s a little depressing

I was inspired to use SOAP by the same wonderful ministry that offers the Bible in 90 Days Challenge!!

I have to tell you the last six days of my bible reading (2 Samuel 22:19–1 Chronicles 9:44) was pretty depressing. Over and over I read that another king would NOT obey God’s instructions, that over and over His people had turned away from Him and turn towards other gods. There were only a few kings that followed God the way He wanted and really most of them only followed some of what God wanted. If I was God I would have just wanted to throw up my Holy hands and say forget it, so it’s a good thing I’m not God!!

When I completed today’s reading I was truly thinking this stuff is depressing, I need me some New testament or some Psalms so I can feel hopeful again! I needed to go get going with my day so I didn’t read from anywhere else. A wee bit later I was getting my boys together for our daily bible reading and all of a sudden God spoke to me and showed me where there was hope in what I had been reading. The hope is HIM! He reminded me of this hope we have in Him by pointing out the HIM I was seeing in what I read, such as He didn’t throw up His hands and say forget it, He allowed His people to choose their on path, He continued to love and hold onto promises He had made, He continued to speak to His people, He continued to forgive and He answered prayers. I have confessed to seeing a different side to God in the O.T. but Old or New Testament He is still God, He is our hope our only hope.

I am being challenged in my thinking; in how I see God, in my understanding of who He is, what He is about, what I really believe about Him and His ways and I am loving it!!

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.” Hebrews 12:28-29.

To read my other B90 SOAP devotions go HERE

Leave a Reply

