B90 SOAP day(s) 19-23: I don’t ‘get’ it

I was inspired to use SOAP by the same wonderful ministry that offers the Bible in 90 Days Challenge!!  

Bible Readings from Judges 15 through 2 Samuel 22.

Within these books we have history that includes Samson, Delilah, Micah’s Idolatry, The Levite’s Concubine (That is a very rough story), violence, sexual abuse, alliances, war after war after war, so much death, women taken from their husbands and given to other men, Ruth, Naomi, Boaz, redemption, infertility, broken hearts, answered prayers, Hannah a women who literally dedicated her child to God by giving him to the priest, men that are supposed to be God’s anointed and yet they live a life of daily disobedience (Eli’s sons), judgement by prophets of God, the Ark captured, men cursed, men blessed, the Ark returned, Saul, Jonathon, David, Bathsheba, adultery, selfishness, Goliath, attempted murder, jealousy, marriages, David and his men eat the Holy bread, Salvation from the Lord, betrayal, loyalty, murder, lust, obedience and disobedience, sorrow, praise, joy, lies, kings established and the death of a king, the enemy defeated, worship, dancing, singing, judgement, punishment, praying, fasting, victories, attempting to cover up sin, serious consequences of sin, desire, rape, revenge, the loss of a child, a son’s betrayal, verbal abuse, loyalty, war between father and son, repentance, wisdom, restoration, forgiveness, love and mercy.

That is not even the whole bible, its only approximately sixty chapters. As I am reading I am “seeing” a side of God I really do not ‘get’. The word says that He is the same yesterday, today and forever. I do believe that, but it seems as if He showed a certain side of himself during the time period of the O.T., that He doesn’t show as much of today or should I say since the New Covenant was established. I could be wrong of course but it seems as if we truly do have a new NEW message and a NEW way that God moves in and through His people. Some of the things I just do not ‘get’; is how women were treated, when He sent His children to war and at times He would have them kill every one of the enemy including women and children, men have more than one wife and they may even have concubine’s, slavery was allowed and He would hold children and grandchildren accountable for the father’s sin. That is just a few of the issue’s I can’t wrap my mind around.

This leads me to remember the scripture

 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
   neither are your ways my ways,”
            declares the LORD.
“As the heavens are higher than the earth,
   so are my ways higher than your ways
   and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

I am not going to ‘get’ everything and I will never know it all but that is no reason to stop trusting HIM, to stop following HIM or to stop striving to obey HIM in all things. HE is GOD, He is everything! He does not have to explain Himself, or conform to my way of thinking. If anyone is going to conform isn’t going to have to be me. So what if I do not ‘get’ something or even If I go so far as to say I don’t agree with it. He has given us life and He has given us the way to eternal life. Really what more can I ask for? The truth is………..NOTHING! Nothing is more important than those two gifts He has already given us!!

Lord, I ask for your wisdom and understanding as I read your word and learn more of you and your ways. I pray that you stir me to continue to trust and seek you no matter what!!

To read my other B90 SOAP devotions go HERE

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I so “get” what you’re saying. It reminds me of our Bible devotionals as we read through the Bible with my 2 girls. We have added a journaling section, “Questions,” knowing that we may not “know” the answers until we meet him in glory! Or as my 8 yr old said, “There’s another question to ask God when I meet Him!”

  2. Kim S. says:

    I totally get what you are saying here. I feel much the same way. I find myself struggling to understand why some things happened or why certain things were allowed, but I keep reminding myself that I am a mere sinful human being who can’t possibly understand the ways of God. What I do know is that He is holy and righteous and I have to trust in Him with all my heart. When we get to Glory, the mysteries will be revealed.

    I agree also about the story of the Levite’s Concubine. I have been in church most of my life & attended a Christian school for over 10 years & I had NEVER been taught this story and had no idea it was even in the Bible. I had to go back and read it twice to make sure that I understood what I was reading. Very disturbing story. What I don’t understand is that the Levite was the one who sent her out for the “crowd” to do with as they pleased, and yet, he held the people of the town responsible for what happened to her. Why didn’t he just protect her? Unanswered questions….

Leave a Reply

