B90 SOAP Day 13 devotion: Sometimes the answer is NO

on

I was inspired to use SOAP by the same wonderful ministry that offers the Bible in 90 Days Challenge!!  

Scripture:

“Sovereign LORD, you have begun to show to your servant your greatness and your strong hand. For what god is there in heaven or on earth who can do the deeds and mighty works you do? Let me go over and see the good land beyond the Jordan—that fine hill country and Lebanon.” But because of you the LORD was angry with me and would not listen to me. “That is enough,” the LORD said. “Do not speak to me anymore about this matter. Go up to the top of Pisgah and look west and north and south and east. Look at the land with your own eyes, since you are not going to cross this Jordan. Duet. 3:24-27

Observation:

I have to admit when I read about how God wouldn’t let Moses cross over to the promise land because of “ONE” incident (sin), I thought that isn’t fair. Every where else we read Moses is obeying God, he honors God and he lives daily for Him.  Why couldn’t God forgive Moses for this sin and still let him go to the promise land. Some may think I am wrong for thinking this or for questioning God but I believe God already knows what I am thinking so I should just go ahead and be honest with myself and him. I am still struggling with the idea that this isn’t fair, that I would have liked to have seen God show Moses more mercy and grace. What this does show me is that my natural (flesh) way of thinking does not match up with my God, so that is why it is important to daily renew my mind by the washing of God’s Word (Roms. 12:1-2). This also shows me that God isn’t in the business of answering all our prayers with a YES, sometimes even if we do not think it is fair, the answer will be NO. 

Application:

What I know is that God is God, He is the creator of all things, He gave us life, He made a way through His son Jesus for us to be with Him through eternity, He has given us the gift of His Holy Spirit, He listens to our prayers, His eyes are on us, He is with us, He will not leave us and His ways and thoughts are higher than ours. He is good no matter what our natural (flesh) thoughts may be thinking because circumstances. He has His reasons for what He does, what He allows and I just need to choose to keep trusting Him!!

Prayer:

Oh, Lord forgive me for any thoughts that I have had that are dishonoring to you or disrespectful. Continue to renew my mind, transform my life as I seek out the truth of your Word, so that I will see, hear, do and even think as you do!! I want every part of me to exalt you and your son so that others will see the beauty of YOU!

To read my other B90 SOAP devotions go HERE

Leave a Reply

