B90 SOAP day 12 devotion: Be Zealous for God

I was inspired to use SOAP by the same wonderful ministry that offers the Bible in 90 Days Challenge!!  

Scripture: (I couldn’t just pick one but God used them all to speak one TRUTH to me)

 But Balaam answered them, “Even if Balak gave me all the silver and gold in his palace, I could not do anything great or small to go beyond the command of the LORD my God. 19 Now spend the night here so that I can find out what else the LORD will tell me.” Numbers 22:18

……Now if you are displeased, I will go back. Numbers 22:34b

Even if Balak gave me all the silver and gold in his palace, I could not do anything of my own accord, good or bad, to go beyond the command of the LORD—and I must say only what the LORD says’? Numbers 24:13

……….because he was zealous for the honor of his God……. Numbers 25:13b

Observation:

We should have intense love, intense devotion, intense passion, intense worship, and intense lives for our God and His ways! I believe all that will play out in such a way that of our attitudes, heart, choices and words that God himself will say about us ” She/He is zealous of ME, their God!” 

Application:

Daily live out Romans 12:1,2

1I APPEAL to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to make a decisive dedication of your bodies [presenting all your members and faculties] as a living sacrifice, holy (devoted, consecrated) and well pleasing to God, which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship.

    2Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].

or

As Toby Mac would say I want to be a JESUS FREAK!!!

What is a Jesus Freak?

Being a Jesus Freak is having a passionate heart for Jesus, a willingness to extend that passion into all areas of life, be it poetry, music, art, or the hard choices made at life’s crossroads. The lineage of Jesus Freaks actually extends much further back into history than the sixties. Many devoted followers through the centuries gave a new definition to the word “commitment” when they put their homes, their families and even the lives on the line. Their love for Jesus was bigger than life itself. When I read their stories, I can’t help but think of my own choices, my own commitments, and how much I owe to those courageous individuals……………….Jesus Freaks are more than hippie kids and rock and roll. They are dedicated followers of Jesus Christ who place His name above any other need or desire…

Read the whole explanation written by -Kevin Max of dc Talk …….HERE!

Prayer:

Thank you Lord that you have given me all that I need to live out your word in Romans 12:1-2 so that I will be Zealous for you in all my ways, that I will literally be  Jesus Freak!!!

To read my other B90 SOAP devotions go HERE

To check out how it is going with other moms who are also taking this journey check HERE.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    There were definitely some courageous individuals in these books of the Bible weren’t they?!?

    My weekly post from my notes for the Ninety Day Challenge (again its a long version) is at http://jessicaslilcorner.blogspot.com/2011/01/bible-in-ninety-days-week-2-leviticus.html and to comment you can go to http://jessicaslilcorner.blogspot.com/2011/01/bible-in-ninety-days-week-2-leviticus.html#comments

    Have a blessed week! :0)

Leave a Reply

