B90 SOAP Devotion Day 1: HE is my EXCEEDINGLY GREAT REWARD

Well, here is my first SOAP post so I guess I should explain what SOAP is. I was inspired to use this SOAP by the same wonderful ministry that offers the Bible in 90 Days Challenge!! Si I decided to use this SOAP as I follow through on my commitment to read the Bible in 90 days!!

 I like to start my day by getting cleaned up and closer to God with a little SOAP. (Didn’t your grandmother say that cleanliness was next to godliness?)

The SOAP I’m talking about is more than just a surface clean, though…  it is a way to get into God’s word and grab my nugget every single time I read.

So, what is this SOAP? Well, I’m glad you asked…

It is a simple way to read through the Lord’s word, pray and reflect on just what He might be telling you in that passage.

All you need for your study/ journaling time is a Bible, notebook, pen and about 20 minutes, depending on the length of your passage.

Here’s what I do:…………..Read More HERE

HERE is a wonderful example of this kind of SOAP from today’s day 1 B90 Challenge!

O.k. now to my B90 SOAP Devotional for day 1, Jan. 3, 2011 of the Bible in 90 Days Challenge:

HE is my EXCEEDINGLY GREAT REWARD!!

I took that from Genesis 15:1 After these things the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision, saying, “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your exceedingly great reward.”

It was like BAM, when I read this verse! God is our Exceedingly Great Reward!! HE, HIM, God, Elohim, Jehovah, Jesus, Yeshua, Savior, Redeemer, the WORD; all that HE is that I understand and even all that I just haven’t “gotten” yet, this ONE that should be THE ONE THING I seek after with everything in me, the one that spoke and everything came into existence, HE is the Alpha, the Omega and my beginning and end, my heavenly Father, the only answer I really ever need, He is all I need and everything I could ever want (even if I don’t really know that yet), this ONE incredible being is my Exceedingly Great Reward!! He Himself is my reward NOT just what He has done for me or what He says He will do, BUT HIM!! Can I really comprehend the fact that even if HE never answered another prayer I am amazingly and intensely loved and that I have been given the most outrageously, extraordinary reward that I could possibly ever imagine just because I know HIM and HE knows me!!

Now that is good stuff, actually that is more than that, it is life-changing!!

Thank you Father that YOU are my Exceedingly Great Reward, I desire to really understand that, to really believe that and to LIVE my life as a testimony to this fact!!

Leave a Reply

