B90 SOAP Devotion Day 2:He takes me by the hand!

 

1/2/11…..8:45 am: I just completed day 2’s reading Genesis 17:1- Genesis 28:19 and my SOAP devotion for today is……

Genesis 19:16 (Amplified Bible)
But while he lingered, the men seized him and his wife and his two daughters by the hand, for the Lord was merciful to him; and they brought him forth and set him outside the city and left him there.

This is from where the angels of the Lord were telling Lot he needed to flee because God was about to destroy this city that had become so wicked that God did not even see ten righteous in it. Lot knew these men were not ordinary men, they were from the Lord and yet when they said to flee Lot actually lingered, he hesitated.

 How often do we know what is right, we know what we need to do, we know what God is saying and yet we linger. We may linger for many different reasons, such as;  fear, doubt, sin and selfishness!  Oh why do I ever hesitate to follow HIM? Lord please forgive me!

What is so amazing about God is that HE is so merciful to take us by the hand when it is needed and lead us away from what isn’t good for us and towards HIM, safety, peace, joy, His plan for us and more!! I am not promising you HE will take you by the hand every time but if He doesn’t do it, HE has a good reason and we need to choose to continue to trust HIM!

Father,

I pray that as I seek you, follow you, really LIVE as in to Live is Christ, that I will not linger. I do not want to ever hesitate, I want to immediately obey you but Lord if I do, please take me by the hand and show me your mercy!!

Leave a Reply

