Walk with HIM: The Spiritual Practice of feasting on His Word


Originally posted on December 6, 2009 by Angie ~~Revised October 18, 2010 by Angie

Lord, I want to FEAST on your word, I want to be consumed by hunger for your word  but I have to ask myself why am I not hungrier than I am?

I already know the answer Lord and I am so sorry for it.

You see Lord, I still choose to FEAST on so many empty calories. I am not saying that what I consume is all junk but so much of it is just empty of any spiritual goodness. Most of what I do, hear, see and speak isn’t tearing me away from you, yet it isn’t bringing me any nearer to you.

I have read your word, I have meditated on your word……………. I have FEASTED, tasted, seen and I know the goodness of you Lord because of your word!

So why do I take so many useless, worthless bites of emptiness?

Stir me Lord to turn away from my table and to turn towards the FEAST you set before me. Your word is the table where I can sit with you, consume that which will not only taste good but will truly benefit me, that which will draw me nearer to your truth, your love, your wisdom, your ways, and your very essence! As long as I choose to keep feasting at the table of your word, I will forever be filled, content and satisfied.

Lord, I am also asking that you will stir me to share your FEAST with the world!

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.–Matthew 5:6
O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him. — Psalm 34:8
How sweet are thy words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth! — Psalm 119:103

You know something Lord, I’m starting to feel pretty hungry!!

Quote from Holy Experience

Every Wednesday, we Walk with Him, posting a spiritual practice that draws us nearer to His heart. To read the entire series of spiritual practices

2 Comments Add yours

  1. becky says:

    Oh angie! So cleverly put! Your words make me reflect and examine my heart. Wow! Thank you.

    1. Angie says:

      Hi Becky,
      Just wanted to say I hope you had a Merry Christmas and that you have a very blessed New Year!!

Leave a Reply

