Don’t leave it out

It is so easy for life to get hectic and the next thing you know it’s hard to include all the wonderful subject’s that are included in a Charlotte Mason Education. The subjects I am speaking of are Artist/ Picture study, Composer study, Hymn and also Folksong study. This will be the third year I have included these subjects and I have been pretty consistent at it but there are times that when push comes to shove these are the subjects that get dropped. This year I wanted to do something that would keep these subjects on my mind and in our line of vision. So I put a table in the corner of my dining area and I have placed on it a frame that holds the picture of the week and Cd’s for the composer, folksong and hymn that we are currently studying. I have also included on the table any books that I will use to enhance these subjects, for example; a composer and artist biography, a book that gives the background of hymns and the words to them and an art book that will have more work from the current artist we are studying. 
I encourage you to keep these subjects in your Charlotte Mason inspired School and even if your not a Charlotte Mason fan you may still find that the above subjects are a wonderful addition to your home school schedule!
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Makita says:

    I'm in the same boat … these subjects frequently get set aside when we get busy. This is a great idea! TFS

  2. Kris says:

    Great tip! Yes, I admit to being an "appreciation dropper" when the school year gets busy. I think I will plan out the list at the beginning of the year so I am not scrambling when it comes time to change to the next artist/composer/poet/folksong.Thanks for submitting this to the hands on homeschool carnival.

  3. Primal says:

    I agree. Unfortunately, right now.. I must leave out a few things. But I look forward to adding them back in within the next few weeks.

  4. What a simple and easy way to keep these subjects in the front of your mind's eye instead of shoving them to the back. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Exactly the same here. I totally see the importance of these studies, but it seems to be the first thing I let slide.:(

  6. Helen says:

    Really great and simple idea… thanks for sharing…Helen

  7. Keri says:

    Good idea.If I leave a Mike Venezia 'Getting to Know Book' sitting around…it WILL get read!

  8. Mrs. Mandy says:

    What a cute idea I think this would be perfect, now if I can find another under used corner. Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

