School Motto

Charlotte Mason’s Student Motto:

I am . . . a child of God, a gift to my parents and my country. I’m a person of great value because God made me.

I can . . . do all things through Christ who strengthens me. God has made me able to do everything required of me.

I will . . . resolve to keep a watch over my thoughts and choose what’s right even if it’s not what I want.

I ought . . . to do my duty to obey God, to submit to my parents and everyone in authority over me, to be of service to others, and to keep myself healthy with proper food and rest so my body is ready to serve.

This motto was used by Charlotte Mason an Educator from the 1800s and I believe that it is perfect even now in 2010!! I have these words hanging on the wall above my work area in what we call our “L” room (L= learning) aka our School room. My oldest has pretty much memorized it and we will continue to work on it until we all (my oldest, my youngest and myself) know it by heart. I would be so proud if my boys of their own free will chose to live by these words because I believe they were inspired by GOD’S HOLY WORD!!

Leave a Reply

