Weekly Wrap-Up

Catching Tad Poles

Monday: I had an early dentist apt., came back worked on laundry and made a loaf of home-made wheat bread (my oldest helped me), my youngest was practicing his golf skills with his dad, we had lunch, more laundry, we had some outside time together and I watched my hubby and boys practicing their football skills =), I read the bible aloud before my hubby had to leave for work, Scripture memory verses, Exercise: work on football skills, geography & Natural History Living Books, Creation Study: Lions & Rhinos, Poetry, Math, Reading (my youngest had his first official Charlotte Mason style reading lesson and it went very well. My oldest read 1 poem and 2 articles from a Creation (nature) Mag. and he narrated  them back to me), Spelling practice for oldest, Handwriting practice (my oldest worked on a letter for a friend, youngest worked on copy work) and we continued our Astronomy Study (we are loving this book “Exploring Creation with Astronomy” by Jeannie Fulbright). At bedtime I completed the trilogy My Father’s Dragon (The boys have just LOVED this book).

Observing Tad Poles and Water Striders

Tuesday: Bible, memory Verses, Math, Reading, Copywork, Oldest reviewed Spelling words and completed a Mad Libs page, Read from Just So Stories and Aesop’s Fables, the boys practiced some football skills with their daddy, read about Samuel Morris from Hero Tales, Read poetry from Christian Mother Goose and A Children’s Garden of Christian Verses, We listened to our current Composer and painted in the impressionist style like our current Artist that we are focusing on right now.

Preparing the old aquarium for the Tad Poles

Wednesday: No School

Hitting golf balls with their daddy at the driving range

Thursday: More of the same today but we started our day first with a great Creation walk. We were going to focus on Dandelions (based of the OH Nature Close to home Spring challenge but we got so caught up observing wildflowers, wild ferns, all kinds of critters that were hanging in a creek and in a big mud puddle we came across, tad poles (we ended up taking some home with us), water striders, two Hawks flying together, insects mating, tunnel spiders and their webs and so much more. It was a wonderful day with my boys  (until later in the day when it was time to finish what you would call regular school and they started whining and complaing!) After lunch we all went out to the golf driving range and the boys and their dad practiced hitting the ball with different clubs and practiced putting. For our Astronomy study we were putting together solar system models.

Putting together a Solar System model

Friday: Today STINKS!!!! One of my kiddies has made some very bad decisions today, so for this son today is all about dealing with consequences that aren’t fun because of our choices. His choices made it very hard to get school done today. Let us just say it took ALL day to get it done and not much else got accomplished. It didn’t help that I was also under the weather. So today was NOT one of my favorite home school days BUT thank the LORD is was with me through it all!!

Having a putting contest at the range

**I love home schooling, I love being with my boys everyday, I know it is ‘right’ for our family and I know God called us to this but ………….. it is also so hard sometimes.  It is difficult at times to hold on to the vision God has given you when reality doesn’t even begin to come close to that vision.  We (husband & I) have to daily choose to trust that our God walks before us, that He hasn’t given us more than we can handle and that one day we will be living out that vision He has placed in our hearts. **

Check Out more Weekly Wrap up post at the blog Weird Unsocialized Home Schoolers

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Janet W says:

    One bad day & 4 good days – not too bad. Hope the tadpoles make it!
    Janet W
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/wdworkman/

    1. Angie says:

      Thanks for the encouraging words! Still have some tad poles but the boys caught and turtle and put him in with the tadpoles and I have noticed a decline i the number of tadpoles =)

  2. Leah says:

    It is always frustrating when our kids make those bad choices! I know God wants us to homeschool too, but I will confess that there are some days I wish for the “magic yellow bus” to pull up outside my house and take all these little people to school! But, then I step back and look at the privilege God has given me of being home with them and teaching them and sharing life with them, and I know I am blessed. Sounds like the first part of your week was good. I hope next week is better. 🙂

    1. Angie says:

      Thank you very much for the encouraging words. Your right it is a privilege that God has given us and I wouldn’t change it for the world!!

  3. Jamie says:

    Thanks for being so open about the challenges you have! We all have those days — or sometimes, those weeks!

    It does look like you had a fantastic week overall! 🙂

    1. Angie says:

      Your right Jamie overall the week was good. It’s a waste of time to let one bad day or one bad hour or obe bad event distort out perception of the BIG Picture!!

  4. Jodie says:

    I think we all have days like your friday…somedays public school looks good 🙂

    1. Angie says:

      Yep sometimes Public School does look good until we see a news report about a violent incident or we hear of layoffs and cut backs, etc and we are reminded one of the reasons we are so blessed to have the choice to HS.

  5. I agree with the other ladies — we all have days (sometimes even weeks!) like that. They’re no fun, but I think it’s part of the learning and growing process for us all — kids and parents. Sounds like the rest of the week was great. Tadpoles are so much fun. We watched some develop into frogs once a few years back. Very cool to watch.

    1. Angie says:

      Amen Kris…….those bad days are part of the learning and growing process. Knowing that helps to put things in perspective.

  6. Ellen says:

    Angie, I love everything you’ve done this week, and I commiserate with you on the bad Friday. When one of our dc’s behavior wrecks the day, it’s daunting! But, if he’she were in school, you’d have limited time to deal with the situation. So it’s all good, right? 😉 Blessings!

    1. Angie says:

      Ellen, You are so right because we home school, we have the time to experience the bad behavior, deal with it and still have to enjoy each other!!

Leave a Reply

