Digging in the Word (In relation to God’s PEACE)

Peace I leave with you; My [own] peace I now give and bequeath to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. [Stop allowing yourselves to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled.]–John 14:27

I want that PEACE!! I need that Peace!!!

God HAS given me His peace through His son Jesus so why do I worry and why at times do I feel so agitated and anxious to the point of feeling sick or faint instead of feeling at peace?Is it my lack of Faith? Is it a test? Is it a lesson? I honestly do not know why, I do not know why I am going through what I am BUT I choose to keep on trusting HIM and walking with HIM even in my questions and even when I do not appear to have this peace. Look what the Amplified has translated from John 14:27 (from above) “Do not let your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid………….Stop allowing yourself to be agitated and disturbed; and do not permit yourselves to be fearful and intimidated and cowardly and unsettled” You see it really is on us, the ball is in our court because God has already given His peace to us so I have determined that I need to stop sitting around just hoping and praying for this peace. I believe that along with prayer I need to WALK by FAITH, I need to actively seek out His peace that He has given me. So towards the end of last week I decided to dig in the Word to find out all I could about  Peace…………….God’s Peace!!

In going back to the Hebrew and Greek I found there is so much more to Peace than I ever thought NOT because the translation(s) of the Bible I have aren’t correct BUT because of my limited knowledge and understanding of all the meanings of the word Peace

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the meaning of Peace (from the Hebrew) as it is used in Psalm 119:165

 Great  peace 7965 have they which love thy law: and nothing shall offend them.

7965 shalowm shaw-lome’ or shalom {shaw-lome’}; from 7999; safe, i.e. (figuratively) well, happy, friendly; also (abstractly) welfare, i.e. health, prosperity, peace:–X do, familiar, X fare, favour, + friend, X great, (good) health, (X perfect, such as be at) peace(-able, -ably), prosper(-ity, -ous), rest, safe(-ty), salute, welfare, (X all is, be) well, X wholly.

7999 shalam shaw-lam’ a primitive root; to be safe (in mind, body or estate); figuratively, to be (causatively, make) completed; by implication, to be friendly; by extension, to reciprocate (in various applications):–make amends, (make an) end, finish, full, give again, make good, (re-)pay (again), (make) (to) (be at) peace(-able), that is perfect, perform, (make) prosper(-ous), recompense, render, requite, make restitution, restore, reward, X surely.

1) completeness, soundness, welfare, peace
a) completeness (in number)
b) safety, soundness (in body)
c) welfare, health, prosperity
d) peace, quiet, tranquillity, contentment
e) peace, friendship
1) of human relationships
2) with God especially in covenant relationship
f) peace (from war)
g) peace (as adjective)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here is the meaning of peace (from the Greek) as it is used in John 14:27
Peace 1515 I leave with you , my  peace 1515 I give unto you: not as  the world giveth, give  I unto you. Let not  your heart  be troubled, neither let it be afraid
1515. eirene i-ray’-nay probably from a primary verb eiro (to join); peace (literally or figuratively); by implication, prosperity:–one, peace, quietness, rest, + set at one again.
1) a state of national tranquillity
a) exemption from the rage and havoc of war
2) peace between individuals, i.e. harmony, concord
3) security, safety, prosperity, felicity, (because peace and harmony make and keep things safe and prosperous)
4) of the Messiah’s peace
a) the way that leads to peace (salvation)
5) of Christianity, the tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and content with its earthly lot, of whatsoever sort that is
6) the blessed state of devout and upright men after death
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
From what I have read the words that really jumped out at me and touched my spirit are
safe
well
rest
health
happy
restore
completed
 
The idea of being safe, well, rested , in good health, happy, to be restored when needed and complete in HIM sounds very peaceful to me. If you have the time please share your favorite scripture and or your own thoughts, a good bible study, book, article, blog post, etc that is related to God’s Peace!! I would appreciate it very much!! I pray anyone who happens upon this post is walking in the Lord’s peace as He desires for you to do!!  
 
(Shalom in Hebrew)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Interesting Wikipedia article on Shalom

holy experience

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Donna Bannister says:

    Hi Angie…I love this post, and not just because of the beautiful pictures of my precious nephews! Just wanted to share what has REALLY given me peace the last few years as the Lord has brought it to my attention…whenever I am tempted to be anxious about something in my life or concerned about the outcome of a situation, I meditate on God’s sovereignty. Whenever I think of God’s sovereignty and how…

    1) He knows the end from the beginning
    2) He has promised that He will work ALL things for His glory and my good
    3) And that He is ordering my steps…

    It FILLS me with peace….God’s sovereignty is such a comforting thought to me…like being wrapped in a Holy Spirit blanket!

    1. Angie says:

      Donna, Thank you so much for sharing this with me!! I needed to be reminded of this!!

  2. Esther says:

    how interesting, and all encompassing…now to just trust 🙂

Leave a Reply

