Weekly Wrap-Up

This is only my second weekly wrap-up post and I am so glad I have started completing these post. It is very nice to go back and check-in with myself and see what all we have done that is educational for my boy’s mind, body and spirit.

(Forces of Nature Exhibit)

Monday: Started our day by grabbing a water and breakfast bar and heading out for a Creation walk and a Creation Study from  http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com/ , came back had breakfast, completed our morning chores, had our bible reading and went over memory scriptures, then we completed the boys workbox one which was ( the walk & Creation study) by drawing in their creation journals, I then read from a Math Living Book ( The Great Number Rumble…….my oldest lOVES this book), then my youngest worked on Spanish on the computer while the oldest did his copywork, then the youngest had his reading lesson while my oldest worked on his Spanish, I then read to them from Paddle to the Sea, which is our living book we are using for a Geography study, then we had lunch and the  boys helped me make it, then we watched a Creation Science video together while we ate, now we moved to our Abraham Lincoln Biography (the boys got to build with legos while I read), then we did some hands on Math with manipulatives, we read a couple of poems from Mother Goose and Christian Mother Goose, then my oldest read a poem to me and his younger brother and I read another one my oldest picked out from his poetry book, we finished our school day by me reading aloud a story from Aesop Fables. My oldest had to let our dog out and then they both picked something from their bonus box. My youngest picked practicing his putting and when my oldest picked painting my youngest decided to also join in. They still have God and Me time, room time (alone time in their own rooms) and a few mores chores. It’s been a great day so far and by Faith I’m going to believe the rest of it will be great also!! =)

(All About Volcanoes)

Tuesday: We had a great field trip to a Gold Museum: the kids got to pan for gems, visit the museum, watch a film on the history of Gold (particularly as it related to the city where the museum was located), explore the grounds and they got to see ruins from where mining used to take place, they also had animals for the kids to see (Chickens, goats, sheep, pigs, bunny, pony and a horse) but I think the favorite activity was exploring a cave (really a tunnel) they had there. The kids LOVED it. It was a wonderful field trip full of friends, American History and Natural History.

(Panning for Gems)

Wednesday: We had “regular school”, my oldest also enjoyed spending time with his daddy playing Golf (P.E.) and I got to spend time with my youngest taking a walk, playing a little ball in the back yard and playing a board game together.

(Learning about Owls)

Thursday: Besides a little regular school we had the Creation (Nature) Club I host at a nearby park. Today it was all about OWLS and it was wonderful. Despite rain and colder temperatures we all had a great time! Below are some links you might enjoy if you and your children like Owls.

(Examining Artifacts)

Friday: We headed out for a full day at a Natural History Museum, besides all their regular exhibits they have a special one right now (lots of Hands-On activities) called Forces of Nature (Tornados, Earthquakes, etc.) plus they have an IMAX movie that goes with the exhibit.

(Climbing on top of  an old mining tunnel)

** I don’t normally like to be away from home that much in one week, this was a rare week with Creation Club and two fields trips but sometimes it’s just nice to mix things up and do something completely different!!**

Volcano Explorer: Great site for creating a Virtual Volcano

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LIVE WEB CAM OF AN  OWL and HER eggs/babies

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Share your videos with friends, family, and the world
~~~~~~~~~~~
Owl Calls & Sounds – All Species – The Owl Pages
~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
lapbooklessons.com
Free Owl Lapbook. Owl Pellet Experiment, Owl Printables, Minibooks, Worksheets, Notebooking pages and more. Great for a unit study on owls, birds of prey or raptors. Fun Owl crafts and educational activities to enhance your learning experience.
~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
Counting Owls Game: This game will explore counting 1, 2, and 3 objects. To play the game, print the number of game boards according to the number of players. Print one dice template for the game and assemble …
~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~
(Up Close to History)
7 Comments Add yours

  1. Tricia says:

    Wow, wow, wow! Y’all accomplished so much and learned such a wide range of wonderful things. Are you ready to settle in for the weekend? What a great week you had. Thanks for sharing your resources and links too.

  2. Giggly Girls says:

    Looks like a great week! Love the Creation walk. Great idea!

  3. Susan says:

    Wow, what a great week.

    Btw, I love reading Aesops too- they’re the perfect length for my younger ones to narrate back.

  4. AF Wife99 says:

    Looks like you were busy this week! But lots of fun too.

  5. I would love to go to a gold museum, so cool! It looks like a very enjoyable week for everyone 🙂

  6. Christi says:

    I’m in awe. I won’t show this post to my kids, they’d be jealous. I really liked the idea of “God and Me time”, what a wonderful way to name this ever so important time. Get some rest this weekend, you’ve got to be tired.

  7. Ellen says:

    Talk about some fabulous field trips! I know you had a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

