Outdoor Hour: Nature Close To Home: Creation Walk and One Small Square Challenge

This picture is actually from the 1st One small square challenge Barb presented http://handbookofnaturestudy.blogspot.com/2008/04/green-hour-challenge-9-one-small-square.html . This time as we embarked on a morning Creation Walk  we also planned to participate in the new One Small Square Challenge that was presented this month from Barb. As soon as the boys woke up this morning (actually I had to finally wake them up) they got dressed, grabbed a breakfast Bar and a Banana and we headed outside to take care of all the animals and then we started on our walk. Surprisingly it was a cold morning especially considering just the other day was the first day of Spring and it was 70′ something outside. I did not bring my camera along this time because I wanted to concentrate on documenting in our Creation journals. In our hiking backpack I had shoestrings and small digging tools to use for this challenge. We were just coming out of the woods on the home stretch when my oldest recommended a spot to place our square and do some investigation. So we pulled out everything we needed and we got started. I pulled out a piece of paper and pencil to document our observations. We removed leaves and dead grass, we created a square from shoestrings, we looked really good and found some new blooms of what we think are clovers, they started digging and they noticed the top layer was brown soil and after that it was all red clay, we saw 5 worms, a 6″ black root, small rocks and my oldest hit what ended up being a pretty good size rock. My youngest started (really) complaining about being cold so we stopped, cleaned up everything and continued our walk. It was a great way to start a Monday and a new school week!! Thanks Barb!!

Below I am including pictures of my boys creation Journal entries for this challenge.

My youngest Journal entry (sorry it’s a bit blurry)

My oldest journal entry

3 Comments Add yours

  1. It sounds like the best way to start out a Monday morning in the early spring. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your journals this time and I am so glad you were able to get outdoors first thing.

  2. { jamie } says:

    I love that you call them Creation walks & Creation studies. I might have to adopt that habit as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

