Walk with HIM:Experiencing God through Correction

 holy experience

A quote from Ann in last week’s post:

Every Wednesday, we Walk with Him, posting a spiritual practice that draws us nearer to His heart.

To read the entire series of spiritual practices

 Next Week: Consider sharing in community: Experiencing God: How have you recently Experienced God in Your Life… … We look forward to your creative voice, ideas, thoughts!

Today, if you’d like to share: Words God has Laid on Your heart to Share …just quietly slip in the direct URL to your exact post….. If you join us, might we humbly ask that you please help us find one another other by sharing the community’s graphic within your post.

**************************************************************************

 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness—-2 Timothy 3:16 (NKJ) 

We can’t take the doctrine, the instruction, the righteousness and all that we see as the good stuff from the Word and skip the reproof or correction!!

Speaking of Correction………..

Recently one of the ways I have experienced God is through “correction”. You know what though, I am glad God will correct me. The thing is why shouldn’t HE? He is GOD, our CREATOR, the one who spoke and BANG things happened. If I am going to be corrected by anyone, I would rather it come from my God.  It really doesn’t bother me at all that HE will correct us, His creation. It actually shows me another aspect of His love for us. Why shouldn’t the creator be able to correct His creation, your right, He should be able to!!! You see He wants a relationship with us, He wants us to have abundant life here and now, He wants us to have eternal life with Him, He wants us to know and to really understand his Word. He wants us to “get it” and “live it” so that His truth and love will shine as a light into this world!! So if it takes correction for me to be able to shine a little brighter than I will take all the correction I can get!!

When God needs to speak to us, He uses many ways to get His point across. I know because I have had it happen in my life.  God speaks to me in all kinds of ways; He is a still small voice in my spirit, He speaks through the Word, through a pastor, a teacher, a book, an article, a blog and a friend. HE will speak the same ‘message’ to me through several different sources. I love it when he does that and I am so thankful that HE  does! It lets me know that I did hear from HIM and I did hear right. He can and will do all this no matter the message He is wanting to speak into our heart and spirit. The message may be a bit of encouragement, wisdom, new understanding and even correction.  The message that God wants to speak to us will never go against His Word, no matter who or what He uses to bring us this message.

Right now I am Experiencing God through Correction in a few areas in my life. I am not sure yet where this correction will end up taking me in these areas but I trust that it will be a very good thing for me. I believe this correction will bring me to a closer walk with Him, deeper understanding, a more humble heart and I will be able to shine His light a little brighter!! Though correction is good for us, it isn’t always is to endure. It comes down our faith in HIM!! I urge you to keep listening to Him even if He is speaking correction to you, just keep trusting that He knows what is best for His creation and that includes you!!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh yes, God disciplines those He loves. I’ve been there too. It may be a bit painful but so worth it as we learn much during those times, if we’re willing to listen and obey.

    And He is such a loving God too. I can’t wait to read how He comforts you in the midst of the correction.

    Blessings,
    Debbie

    1. Angie says:

      Your so right, we can learn sooo much when we are willing to listen!! Thank you for the encouraging words! I look forward to sharing all that the Lord does in my life because I always want it to point back to HIM!!!

  2. Heather says:

    I have found in my relationship with the Lord, all possible to His grace poured out on Calvary, that He doesn’t need me to work harder at ‘getting it.’ My flesh, this side of eternity, could never just ‘get it’ or ‘live it’ on it’s own. But praise be to God, He can/ will manifest those things in us without our own effort but simply as a response to our realization of His Son’s sacrifice and the profound love He has for us, His dust kids.

    In the flesh, I have worked hard at getting and living much and I found myself exhausted, frustrated, and unfulfilled. But when I found the truth about how much I was loved by our Abba Father I naturally started to respond to that revelation. Places that I struggled signifigantly suddenly seemed without effort. Nothing changed about/ in me except for my understanding of Jesus. That was two years ago now. Believe it or not I was saved at age six. I had known salvation for years and understood I was a sinner. But I certainly didn’t know victory until I learned of who I am in Christ. Not becuase of me but because of He alone.

    Correction can turn into self condemnation very quickly if we aren’t underneath of grace. Correction can have a profound beauty when we are under grace. When it err’s to the side of condemnation of self that’s on dangerous turf because our flesh wants to work it out rather than rely on our Abba Father to manifest right living in us because of right believing. It’s never the other way around on that one.

    I too, like you, have found such an awesome thing in how the Lord corrects my ways. An it’s so cool to have people confirm what the Lord is working out in our lives. I get so excited when that happens. In fact i’m over on my blog talking about that today.

    Great post! Walk in your already earned victory today! You are loved beyond measure by your Father! He wants to just pour out his blessings into your life!

    Heather

    1. Angie says:

      Oh, Heather!! Your words are beautiful and so true!! Only by the grace of God can we do anything!!! It is never by our own merit!! I am so blessed to be at a place in my relationship that I can find joy in correction, know that He does it because He so greatly loves His creation and as you said I can walk in Faith that I have the victory!!

  3. Dianne says:

    God’s correction and reproof always ends in good. I am excited to know that you are letting Him grow you through all of His loving ways of discipline. Great post. Dianne

  4. I know just what you mean about “HE will speak the same ‘message’ to me through several different sources. I love it when he does that and I am so thankful that HE does! It lets me know that I did hear from HIM and I did hear right.” You see, I read an article the other day about…But I Have To Yell To Be Heard…from http://www.biblicalparenting.org and in that article I got the verse Jeremiah 10:24 (which has become my memory verse of the week) it reads: O Lord, correct me, but with judgment; not in thine anger, lest though bring me to nothing. Doesn’t this verse just go in conjunction with the postcard on Ann’s WWHW posting this week??!!

    God bless, and thank you for your encouraging post.

Leave a Reply

