Fun Friday

Fun Friday

**See Update at the bottom of page……….a comment by the author of the book I mention below**

For my FUN FRIDAY post I want to highlight a book that I purchased to use for Art Appreciation and Art Lessons.

Discovering Great Artist…..Hands On Art for Children in the styles of the Great Masters by MaryAnn F. Kohl andKim Solga

Featuring more than 150 activities, this guide teaches the styles, works, and techniques of the great masters—Van Gogh, Michelangelo, Rembrandt, and more.–Amazon.com

HERE are the customer reviews from Amazon

 It would be an even better book if the pictures were in color and if they offered several examples of the artist original works. Though I do love the book for what it does offer. Which is an outstanding list of famous artist, a little information about each artist and an activity to do that is inspired by the artist.

** During today’s Fun Friday we will be working on our Handicraft/ Life Skills Photography challange along with doing the activity that is in the above book on Andy Warhol. **

For other ideas for a Fun Friday or for just any day of the week see my ORIGINAL Fun Friday post!

Please share your fun educational ideas, activities, tips, etc. Thank You!!

Be Blessed,
Angie 
 
Update:
Thank you so much for featuring “Discovering Great Artists” on your blog. As the author of the book, I’m very grateful for your stamp of approval! Kids love the projects in this book…I always have fun with kids in various schools when I use projects from this book. Always a good creative time for all. Please tell your readers that my website has a full color “click” for each artist directly to one of their masterpieces online. Also, my newest book, “Great AMERICAN Artists for Kids” is in full color. (Though most educational activity books are not in color, I decided to step up and start doing color from now on. I’m a single person publisher, so it’s a big step!) Thank you again for caring about creativity for children.
Yours truly,
MaryAnn Kohl
author
http://www.brightring.com maryann@brightring.comPS My website has TONS of free art activities from all of my books at:
http://www.brightring.com/Fun%20Activities.html
Also check “previous activities” on that same page.

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

6 Comments Add yours

  1. michiell says:

    Aangie, first I want to thank you for the FUN FRIDAY idea. I read about it on your blog, and my boys and I have embraced it.

    We have above art book and have really enjoyed using it. I am choosing all the one-star-ability projects first. I google image the artist and first we look at some of his/her work before we get started.

    What would we do without the internet!

  2. MaryAnn Kohl says:

    Thank you so much for featuring “Discovering Great Artists” on your blog. As the author of the book, I’m very grateful for your stamp of approval! Kids love the projects in this book…I always have fun with kids in various schools when I use projects from this book. Always a good creative time for all. Please tell your readers that my website has a full color “click” for each artist directly to one of their masterpieces online. Also, my newest book, “Great AMERICAN Artists for Kids” is in full color. (Though most educational activity books are not in color, I decided to step up and start doing color from now on. I’m a single person publisher, so it’s a big step!) Thank you again for caring about creativity for children.
    Yours truly,
    MaryAnn Kohl
    author
    http://www.brightring.com

  3. MaryAnn Kohl says:

    PS My website has TONS of free art activities from all of my books at:
    http://www.brightring.com/Fun%20Activities.html
    Also check “previous activities” on that same page.

    Happy Art!
    MaryAnn

    1. Angie says:

      Thank you so much MaryAnn for letting us know about your website!! I look froward to checking it out!!

  4. Becky says:

    My children and I have enjoyed this book a lot!
    I am working again with it…now that my youngest is 6 yo.
    Thank you for writing it.

  5. Becky says:

    Angie,

    This is such a great idea(Fun Fridays)…I promise I’ll be back with my link!
    I need this now that my 3 older children do most of their classes online and I have a little one that deserves “fun projects”…maybe this will help me to keep up with the Yes and Yes!!

    Blessings,

Leave a Reply

