Walk with HIM: The old is gone, the new has Come

Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come! 2 Cor. 5:17

A new moment, new day, new job, new subject, new game, new clothes, new furniture, new friend, new group, new show, new movie, new book, new perspective, new love, new schedule, new house, new glasses, new appliances, new class, new pencils, new  baby, new month, new year and new life. We love new; its good, its comfortable, its exciting, it’s needed, its soothing, its different, its fun, it’s just so NEW!

At times I am so very desperate for new but not just any new will do. The new I must have is the new I have in Christ and because of Christ. There are days that I am not just looking towards a new day,  at times I’m frantically grasping for a new moment. Clearly the Word says that if I am in Christ I am a new creation. The Old has passed away the new has come. If that is true than why do I struggle so, why do I find myself walking and being more like the old than the new? Why do I daily have such a need for the new?

Well, it certainly isn’t because God’s Word is false or misleading. It’s true we are a new creation when we are in Christ!!! Our Spirit, our soul, our very essence is new because of our Saviour but our flesh isn’t new. That is why is so important to choose to WALK with HIM in the flesh so that we can continue  WALKing by the spirit. What I mean by choose to Walk with HIM in the flesh, is that we choose with our two flesh hands to pick the Word up,  our two flesh eyes  read those life changing Words, our two flesh legs walk us unto a place of worship, we bend on our two flesh knees and open up this flesh mouth and offer up supplication and our two flesh arms we raise in surrender and adoration to HIM the one that has made us new.  

When you struggle, when you sin, when you doubt, when your anxious, when you don’t do what you know to do, when you feel God is far away, He isn’t listening or His word isn’t true. When you feel so desperate for a new moment, a new day or even a whole new year. It is most likely just your flesh that causes you to feel this way.  When you are desperate and even when your not desperate Choose HIM! Choose to WALK with HIM in the flesh so that you can continue to walk in that brand new fresh creation that YOU are because of Christ.

We are at the end of another year but do not put your hope in the number 2010, in the fact that you get to throw out one calendar and replace it with a new one. A new date nor a new calendar changes a thing!! Put your hope in the one that made you, the real you forever NEW when you chose HIM as your Saviour and Lord. When your hope is in HIM, when your choice is HIM, you will really have that NEW Year and when push comes to shove He will always give you that NEW moment!

I am going to end by borrowing from what the spirit placed in me for my post yesterday and I am going to keep this as my prayer for the year 2010……… 

Lord, I choose to keep my heart and my eyes wide open to you. My will is that I never cease to see and acknowledge your goodness!!!

To hear from others that choose to WALK with HIM go to the Holy Experience . Every Wednesday their are NEW voices sharing !!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tricia says:

    Oh this brings to mind a favorite verse: Isaiah 43:19
    Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.

  2. toseeincolor says:

    Praise the Lord that speaks through His people!
    I really needed to read this. Thank you so much for allowing the Spirit to move you.
    Praise God for giving us that fresh start!

  3. Debbie says:

    Angie, as long as we are on this side of eternity we will have our flesh to deal with. But our God doesn’t leave us alone. We have His Holy Spirit within who will lead us, guide us every day in His ways. I don’t know about you but my problem is control. Letting go and allowing Him to lead.

    Thank you for sharing such profound truths today.

    Blessings,
    Debbie

  4. I love your prayer for 2010. His goodness will never fail us, and there is always more of it to see than we can even imagine!

    Blessings,
    lisa

  5. Trish says:

    Once again you have touched my heart.

    Love this thought: “At times I am so very desperate for new but not just any new will do. The new I must have is the new I have in Christ and because of Christ.”

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

