What’s Up with Shadows

Psalm 17:8
Keep me as the apple of Your eye;
Hide me under the shadow of Your wings,

A Shadow (from the sun) is created when sunlight hits a solid object.
Today we made a homemade sundial out of a small flower pot and a small flag pole, we then used a sharpie to mark on the pot where the shadow fell across the pot from the pole. I didn’t get out as early as I wanted but I think they got they point after we did check on it a couple of times today. After marking the sundial for the first time we went for a walk and observed objects casting shadows. We found all kinds of things casting shadows from very small like an acorn to large like out barn. It is a beautiful fall day over in in my little area of the incredible world that our God Created!
Homemade Sundial from Playdough.com
Make a sundial activity from Howstuffworks.com
make your own sundial from Sciencefairadventure.com
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Phyllis says:

    I loved this post. It was interesting to see the projects you and your children do, and to see them enjoying nature. Your blog really invites people to join you. Thanks for taking the time to share with us.-PhyllisPS: I really love the first song that plays…so much so that I looked it up to buy but found that it is not for sale any more. Too bad.

  2. We made a sundial a while back. Didn't turn out like I expected. I see in these links that the thing sticking up is supposed to be at an angle. Ours was sticking straight up – that must have been the problem. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

